Our History.
-
In 1914, the Navesink Library Association (predecessor to the Duryea-Navesink LIbrary Association) was incorporated and established as Middletown’s first public library, in the “Old Baptist Church building.” The initiative was spearheaded by a small group of Navesink’s leading citizens, led by Anna Reed Parsons, daughter of a prominent New York City educator, and wife to Colonel William Barclay Parsons. Col. Parsons in turn was an incredibly successful New York City-based civil engineer (among other projects, he worked on the Panama Canal), and also led a team of engineers of the American Expeditionary Forces in France during World War I.
Within just a few years, the library had outgrown its original space. In stepped Ellen Duryea, who was looking for a proper memorial to her recently deceased husband, Hermanus, who had spent his formative years on an estate near Brown’s Dock on the Navesink River. Mrs. Parsons was an old friend of Mr. Duryea, and suggested that a new library in Navesink Village would be a fine opportunity to perpetuate her husband’s memory. Mrs. Duryea agreed to fund the construction, and Col. Parsons, to encourage her, split the cost of the land purchased at the corner of Sears and Monmouth Avenues. The new building, known as the “Navesink Library” to this day, was opened in late 1917.
Since its inception, the Navesink Library has been a treasured part of Monmouth County’s cultural fabric, in one of its oldest villages; a place where history and community meet, and where a non-profit organization has remained dedicated to enriching the lives of local residents.
Herman’s portrait still presides over the reading room mantle, a silent witness to the countless stories that have unfolded within these walls, though some of our younger visitors might claim it adds just the right touch of mystery to the high-ceilinged, oak paneled space.
-
From the very beginning, the Library was more than a place to borrow books; it was a lively hub where the community gathered to connect, create, and celebrate. The reading room buzzed with activity, the auditorium transformed into a stage for theater performances and concerts, and the basement featured bowling alleys, billiards, and meeting spaces, making it a popular venue for social gatherings. For good measure, two tennis courts were constructed behind the Library. Whether hosting men’s and women’s clubs, children’s programs, or festive community events, the Library was the beating secular heart of Navesink village.
Beyond its role as a cultural hub, the Library served as a guardian of the village’s history. The bronze honor roll of local World War I veterans, once displayed by the front door, now hangs proudly in the reading room, a testament to the village’s enduring legacy. The records of these brave individuals also are meticulously preserved in the Library archives, ensuring that their stories remain alive for future generations.
-
The Library flourished in the 1920s and 1930s notwithstanding bumps along the way, but faced serious challenges after World War II, as financial constraints took their toll on the broader community and Navesink Village gradually lost its businesses and transitioned to being strictly residential. In 1959, the Library merged with the Middletown Free Library, becoming a branch of the Township system, a poignant turn of events, considering that the Navesink Library had helped seed the Middletown Township Library with books in 1921 (in addition to other “branches” of the Navesink Library in neighboring bayshore villages). But importantly, ownership of the property remained with the non-profit.
In 2013, Middletown Township closed the Navesink branch, halting maintenance and removing funding for a part-time librarian. At the same time, the DNLA’s Board of Trustees was taken over by individuals from outside the community, and endowment funds were drained to cover operating expenses rather than much-needed capital improvements. Efforts to sustain the Library through sporadic theater programs proved insufficient, and the once-vibrant property fell into disrepair and ultimately was locked up and left shuttered as the Covid pandemic arose in March 2020.
-
In late 2021, a determined group of local residents reclaimed control of the DNLA’s Board of Trustees, driven by a shared vision to restore the Library to its former glory as a cultural and community center (though not as a lending library).
In 2022, the revitalization of the building began in earnest, with all major systems inspected and restored. By 2023, the restoration was in full swing: upgrades and repairs were completed and the building was revitalized for public enjoyment.
The Navesink Library once again is a vibrant and beloved gathering place, ready to write its next chapter in the community's history.
Portrait of Herman Duryea
Local WWI Veterans Honor Roll